Skip to content
April 21, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Studio Figura – body shaping, no sweat?

studio_figuraA couple of weeks ago, I was lucky enough to win a competition run by http://www.yourcolchester.co.uk, a website which promotes businesses in my local area.  The prize was a free Lymphatic Drainage Massage at Studio Figura, which opened on Crouch Street about sixweeks ago.  I was pleased – amassage has to be a good thing, right? – but also a little curious as I hadn’t really heard of Studio Figura, or lymphatic drainage to be fair, so I did a little bit of research on their website to get an idea of what to expect.

I discovered that Studio Figura is body-shaping business, but it’s done through roller massage, which is supposed to stimulate and balance the body’s lymphatic system.  Blood is pumped around the body but lymph isn’t, so if someone perhaps isn’t very active, it doesn’t work as effectively to take toxins out of the body.  This all sounds very sensible…but can it really work?  Obviously, this won’t make a dramatic difference to your weight if you eat rubbish and never exercise but someone else there for their session while I was told me they’d noticed their stomach and legs were firmer and their waist was more defined after five sessions (twenty sessions are recommended for maximum benefit, but sessions are bought in eight- or twelve-session sets).  As well as the roller massage, customers are offered advice on nutrition and lifestyle, and also the chance to buy in-house diet supplements to ‘compliment’ the massage and nutrition programme.  It should also therefore benefit general wellbeing and your skin complexion too.

studio_figura_colchester

Walking in, I was struck by the light, bright, clean decor – you can see from the pictures above it’s nothing like going to the gym; it feels quite luxurious in comparison, which I think is really what they’re trying to achieve.  It also feels very private, as the windows are frosted, and it’s very peaceful.  I was greeted by Silvia, who was really friendly and welcoming, and really put me at ease.  She showed me where I could change (in fact I’d worn a t-shirt, leggings and shorts, so just needed to take off my shorts and shoes), then took me through the use of the roller machine programme.  I think most people would only need to be shown this once, as there are posters you can use to remind yourself what to do next – you move to put different parts of your body against the rollers, starting with the feet, so that the lymph is always moved in an upward direction.  She also made sure to remind me to keep drinking my complimentary bottle of water, to help flush out the toxins.

Did it work? Have I lost inches? Am I firmer? Well, after one session, I can’t really see any difference but I wouldn’t expect to either.  What I can say is that the massage was very pleasant, and I felt both relaxed and energised afterwards.  I can also say the customer service, atmosphere and cleaniness was excellent.  Will I be purchasing a course of massages? Honestly, probably not, but only because it isn’t a cheap option.  When I enquired, Silvia said most people come twice a week, and a course of eight massage would cost well over £100.  Now, according to the blurb, a one-hour session of roller massage is the equivalent of three hours of manual massage, so you could see that as very good value but sadly it’s still out of my price-range at the moment.

If you’re interested in giving it a try yourself, do see if there’s one in your area (there’s a list of the franchises on the website); at the Colchester studio, Silvia is offering free trial massages to try to raise interest.  Personally, I think I’ll stick to the gym, going for runs and using my Nike Training app, but other who don’t already pay a gym membership may be able to stretch to this.  If you do, let me know what you think!

Silva can be reached for enquiries at silvia.norkute@studio-figura.co.uk, or at 01206768476

Studio Figura Colchester can be found at 29, Crouch Street, CO3 3EN, and is open on weekdays until 7pm.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Studio Figura / Apr 25 2013 12:06 pm

    A hudge thanks for honest and warm opinion hun. Regarding the prices, Studio figura often has deals and discount to keep our clients happy 😉 one of them is a deal on Wowcher of one massage for £12 or five for £39. The deal can be purchase directly at STUDIO FIGURA too ❤ xxx

    http://www.wowcher.co.uk/deals/essex/deal-43913-detail/12-instead-39-body-lymphatic-massage-infra-red/deal.html

Leave a comment!

