Skip to content
April 24, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Get Garter at Tea & Sympathy

I don’t tend to think of myself as a garter type of gal but I was tempted out on a school night to Mae Kandoo’s Get Garter workshop at Tea & Sympathy, for an evening of saucy sewing and earl grey infused cocktails in beautiful tea cups.

In case you haven’t head of Tea & Sympathy, to me it’s like an Aladdin’s Cave, a wonderful emporium of lovely things – retro nicknacks, gorgeous handmade jewellery and accessories, pre-loved vintage clothing plus tea, cakes, all manner of beauty treatments and brilliant workshops.  It’s almost easier to say what it doesn’t do!  This wonderful place is the accidental brainchild of Melissa Porter and Jo Coldwell – Jo said to me recently that they never intended to start up the business, but it just sort of happened – and I know a lot of people who think it’s the best kind of accident to have.

Back to the business in hand… I went solo and was a little nervous but Jo and Mel were both there to welcome me with a glass of Prosecco – how sophisticated! – and everyone was very friendly.  It turned out that in fact only two people had come together, so we all chatted while we attempted, some more patiently/successfully than others to create our master-(mistress?)-pieces.  Vikki – she’s not really called Mae – was a really patient teacher, especially when the less skilled of us were starting to flag a little, and brought some beautiful vintage fabrics and embellishments for us to use.  She had three different styles of garter for us to choose from, was happy to give us all as much help or advice as we needed, provided us with excellent instruction sheets to take away with us and made sure we knew we could get in touch for more advice later too!

My garter, so far

My garter, so far

Now, I probably am the slowest sewer in the world, but in the time we had I managed to stitch on a string of sequins along the length of the garter, and sew the outer layer together, with the strip of black vintage lace as a frill.  Oh and did I mention the cocktails?
I wasn’t able to thread elastic through on the night, as there wasn’t quite enough of the thinner elastic, so I took away my garter-so-far plus instruction sheet, and then popped into Fabric8 to buy myself a few bits with which to finish it off.  I’ve got some lovely black ribbon to turn into rosettes, some little dark red bows and a really cute selection of buttons.

I really enjoyed the workshop and I love the friendly atmosphere of Tea & Sympathy.  For £15, I definitely got value for money and it’s really boosted my confidence to try some more new things in future.
If you fancy popping along to a workshop or to pick up a treat, check out the website – alittlesympathy.co.uk – or you can find them on Facebook and they tweet, too, at @alittlesympathy.
If you’d like to get in touch with Vikki about Mae Kandoo products and workshops, she’s also on Facebook.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Janey / Apr 24 2013 8:45 pm

    It’s looking great! I think it’s always scary to do these types of things on your own, but you actually do it, it’s fine, and I think you feel better knowing you’ve been brave!

    I’m glad you had a good night 🙂

  2. montgomerytiffany / Apr 25 2013 4:39 am

    Looks awesome!

Trackbacks

  1. Making a necklace – my summer project | MagicKitten* blogs

Leave a comment!

