Skip to content
June 29, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Shopping Independent

I’ve been doing a bit of independent shopping today in Colchester and it was a great day to choose for it.  It’s Independent Booksellers Week, from 29th June to 6th July, plus the latest (and last!) Weasel In A Teacup summer art market was taking place in Colchester Arts Centre!

Before that, though, Rob and I popped into Ace Comics to pick up our latest subscriptions.  I noticed a great new comic called East of West, by Hickman, Dragotta and Martin, published by Image, an independent comic label; I picked up the first three issues and really loved it.

East of West, #1-3, and the limited edition copy of Roverandom by JRR Tolkien

East of West, #1-3, and the limited edition copy of Roverandom by JRR Tolkien

Then we headed to Red Lion Books, on Colchester High Street, to see what we could find.  I picked up this beautiful hardback limited edition of Roverandom, a lovely children’s story by JRR Tolkien – one of the first stories he ever wrote.  Isn’t it gorgeous?

Then we headed to Colchester Arts Centre to the last Weasel In A Teacup event; I’ve been before but only browsed but I found a couple of really lovely things this time, plus some great business cards for some of the sellers who had more-than-pocket-money items I liked.

Weasel In A Teacup purchases

Weasel In A Teacup purchases

Earrings and brooch by Hello Pushkin

Earrings and brooch by Hello Pushkin

I absolutely loved this print, called Nowhere Street, by Nicholas Frazier – I was immediately drawn to the wonderful speckled night sky and I’m going to enjoy looking for an equally lovely frame to display it in.  How cute are the brooch and earrings by Hello Pushkin?  I love quirky jewellery and I fell in love with them as soon as I saw them.

When I get a chance, I’m also going to investigate Comics and Cogs, who had some amazing unique jewellery, including wonderful necklaces with Alice In Wonderland illustrations.  It’s really reminded me why it’s so great to shop independent – you never quite know what you’re going to find, but there’s likely to be something lovely at the end of the search…

Leave a comment!

