Skip to content
July 24, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Making a necklace – my summer project

I’m not the most crafty of people – I can sew my Girl Guide badges onto my blanket, sew on a button or redo the hems of my trousers but that’s about the limit of my attempts to date, other than my expedition to the excellent Garter Making Workshop at Tea & Sympathy earlier this year.  However, I thought that as I now have my summer holidays, I would set myself a craft project that will hopefully produce something I can wear and enjoy.

I’m going to make myself a multi-strand bead and ribbon necklace!  I love statement necklaces and I’m hoping that, if it goes well, I’ll have a truly unique, original piece that I can be really proud of.  A few weeks ago, I saw this Martha Stewart idea for a necklace which uses old sparkly brooches or big costume jewellery earrings to create a necklace.  However, I don’t really have any pieces like these to use, not being one for too much bling, so I thought I’d pop into some of the craft shops in Colchester and see what I could find.

Ingredients for a necklace

I got some lovely 15mm ribbon, D-rings, jump rings and two clasps in Fabric8, and then went to Monty’s Beads to find some luxurious embellishments…  Monty’s Beads is a bit of an aladdin’s cave for purpose made beads as well as Swarovski crystals, gemstones, freshwater pearls, tools, threads, cords and all sorts of trimmings and finishings.  I chose a few pre-packed bags; some big chunky wooden beads and black/blue/white striped, as well as some Swarovski double-cone shaped crystals, a lovely dark-red crystal star shape and a natural green gemstone.

Monty's BeadsI’m really looking forward to putting my necklace together, and I’ll keep you updated on how I get on…

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Fabric8 (@Fabric8Online) / Jul 25 2013 8:46 am

    Fantastic! We love finding out what happens to the things people get from us 🙂

  2. Janey / Jul 27 2013 11:02 am

    Looking forward to seeing the result!

Leave a comment!

