Skip to content
August 4, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Pretty Things

I popped into town yesterday and did my nice-things-for-myself shop for August.  I try to be disciplined about this, and just choose certain things to top up my supplies or add certain useful pieces instead of just splurging, and I think I’ve been pretty restrained here.

Cynthia Sylvia Stout shampoo and American Cream conditioner, both approx £14, from Lush

Cynthia Sylvia Stout shampoo and American Cream conditioner, both approx £14, from Lush

First, my favourite shampoo and conditioner from Lush.  I love Cynthia Sylvia Stout shampoo – it does smell a little of beer but also of cognac oil and lemon, and it’s brilliant for dark coloured hair.  My hair can get a bit crazy and wavy but this keeps it very shiny and smooth, even if I do usually straighten it.

Speaking of straightening, I do this almost every day after blow-drying, so American Cream is a brilliant conditioner.  It’s very nutritious, with honey, vanilla, orange and strawberry and it’s very creamy but it doesn’t weight my hair down or make it greasy, which is great as my hair tends to be very fine!

These aren’t cheap but they last for absolutely ages, and I usually get some little freebies too – today, some yellow ‘Fun’, a mouldable soap!

MAC Pressed Pigment in Pink Pepper, and Eye Kohl in Prunella

MAC Pressed Pigment in Pink Pepper, and Eye Kohl in Prunella

 

Next, to MAC!

Ages ago, I bought myself a brilliant intense limited-edition eye shadow from MAC in a strong, sparkly golden pink but foolishly didn’t stock up.  At last, I’ve found a replacement.  The Pressed Pigment shade Pink Pepper is perfect (£17)

I’ve also replaced an Eye Kohl (£14) I bought a couple of years ago, which has finally got too short to sharpen any more – it’s a very dark purple, Prunella, which goes really well with the pink/gold eye pigment, as well as the eye shadow shades I wear day-to-day (Gleam, Naked Lunch – £12.50).

Again, these are medium range products in terms of price but they’ll keep me going for ages, and they are great quality.

Assymetric skirt, Topshop, reduced to £10 on sale

Assymetric skirt, Topshop, reduced to £10 on sale

 

And finally, to Topshop.  I was looking for some basic black tops to wear under dresses or sheer shirts that I might otherwise find a bit too revealing on myself, but I always have a look in the sale too.  I really loved this skirt I found; it’s so pretty, with its asymmetric design and layers, and because it’s black, it fits my love of patterned tops with plain bottoms.  Now I have an alternative to skinny jeans or shorts and legging with my colourful summer tops.

 

 

 

 

 

I’m pleased with my haul – what have you replaced or updated lately?

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lushnewry / Aug 4 2013 5:44 pm

    I currently have Cynthia Sylvia Stout and American Cream in my shower too! Love them and my daughter loves fun. Did you know you can use it to create bubbles in the bath too? x

Leave a comment!

