Skip to content
August 10, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Unboxing: Glossybox, July 2013

What could be better than to receive a lovely package in the post, to open up and investigate?  I’ve recently rediscovered the joy of treats in the post, be that internet shopping bargains, books, free samples or this – my first Glossybox.

Unboxing July Glossybox, stage

Unboxing July Glossybox, stage

I heard about Glossybox via beauty bloggers on Twitter – it can be a subscription service (continual, 3, 6 or 12 months), you can order a box as-and-when too, or even send a box or subscription as a gift.  Each box contains five products, selected for you based on a monthly theme plus the answers you give to a reasonably detailed, but easy, survey about your colouring, complexion and beauty preferences on sign-up.  I found the process really easy, and I’ve signed up to the continual subscription, as there’s no penalty for cancellation and it’s also available through Quidco.  

Unboxing July Glossybox, stage 2

Unboxing July Glossybox, stage 2

Before we get to the products, I have to say I’m a sucker for boxes and packaging and I wasn’t disappointed by this.  The external box is really strong and sturdy, and looks beautiful – it’s definitely going to be put to good use.  And, look the gorgeous way the products were presented inside; we’re already on to a winner!

For my first Glossybox, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, although I had a rough idea.  This is the July box, even though I received it at the beginning of August due to my sign-up date, so I was able to have a look online for a sneak preview of what some other subscribers had received.

Product 1: Alterna Haircare Bamboo Style Boho Waves Tousled Texture Mist (£125ml for £23)
Designed to spray on damp or dry hair, to create some tousled ‘beach waves’ – I was really pleased to receive this as I’ve tried a few different products like this and never found one that I really like.  I normally love Label M products but I just found their Salt Spray a bit too claggy.  I’ve already had a go with this and found that, on my hair which is quite fine, it needs a little bit of help from a spritz of hair spray to keep its shape but it smells great, it was very easy to use and not at all sticky or claggy, and my hair still had a bit of shine too.

Unboxing July Glossybox, stage 3 - the products revealed

Unboxing July Glossybox, stage 3 – the products revealed

Product 2: Coola Mineral Face SPF 20 Rose Essence Tint (50ml for £29.99)
To my shame, I very rarely wear sun protection on my face, as I tell myself the SPF in my foundation will be enough.  I do sometimes get caught out and this will be a timely reminder to myself that if I’m planning to spend a day in the sunshine, I’ll pop some of this under my foundation.  It does smell nice and is hypoallergenic and paraben-free, which I always look out for.

Product 3: Sleek Makeup Pout Paint (8ml for £4.99)
Now these, I’m not too sure about – the idea is that you have a selection of shades (there were also pink, blue and fuschia on offer, although I received a vivid red and a silver shade) then combine them to create a personalised lip shade (although you can use them elsewhere too), applied with a finger (!?) or a lip brush.  If I’m honest, I don’t think I’ll use these too much, although it’s a fun idea.  The colours are very vivid and dry to a lovely finish, but I generally wear sheer lip colour or gloss so these will be saved for fancy dress occasions.

Product 4: Ciate London Paint Pot, in Mistress (13.ml for £9)
I was thrilled to receive this excellent Ciate varnish, as I’ve been searching for suppliers locally and have only just discovered one near me.  This was my first try from the box – applies incredibly easy, dries quickly and gives  really glossy shine. I have managed to chip one nail doing my usual clumsy washing up routine but other than that, it’s lasting incredibly well.  My new favourite nail varnish.

Product 5: Anatomicals Spray Misty For Me facial spritz (100ml for £6)
The magazine/leaflet from my box tells me this is the “current obsession in the Glossy office” – it’s a facial mist with scents of lavender and mint to refresh, rehydrate and calm skin.  I only wish I’d had this with me a week or so ago when the temperatures at heatwave proportions because it’s a real breath of fresh air and incredibly reviving, but also very relaxing – the scent is beautiful.  It’s currently on my bedside table but this sturdy spray will be in my handbag when the sun comes out again; the spray dries quickly without smudging or spoiling make-up and is a perfect pick-me-up on a long day out.

Over all, I’m really pleased with the products in the July Glossybox – only one of the selection wasn’t really for me and I certainly got to try out brands that I’d never have thought of otherwise.  I can’t wait for the next one.

Leave a comment!

