Skip to content
August 17, 2013 / magickittenblogs

What’s In My Handbag review: Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm

A little while ago, I was thrilled to receive a sample of Omorovicza’s Thermal Cleansing Balm to try out and review, from What’s In My Handbag, a website designed to allow us to discover and try luxury beauty brands, review them, then maybe buy the product if we enjoy it.

Dark and exotic - Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm

Dark and exotic – Omorovicza Thermal Cleansing Balm

This was my first sample from WIMH and what a way to start!  I try quite a few hair products and love experimenting with eye shadow or nail varnish but I rarely try to skin care brands, as I still have very ‘teenage’ skin – prone to breakouts yet still quite sensitive.  I was very intrigued by the brand, which I’d not heard of before, and the product sounded fantastic – according to their website,

“This uniquely natural black balm glides on clear to remove all make-up and impurities without stripping the skin, to leave it radiant, soft and silky-smooth.  Amazingly gentle, this balm removes even the most resilient make-up without irritating the delicate eye area.”

The cleanser comes in a frosted glass jar with twist-lid, and looks extraordinary – it’s completely black when in the jar, although becomes translucent and lighter on the fingertip.  It has a really smooth texture, although I could tell it had gently exfoliated after use, and smells incredible too.  The company is based in Budapest and the fragrance is earthy and spicy; it conjured up images of thermal springs and bath houses.

I followed the instructions – “Rub a small amount of this cleanser between your fingers and apply to the entire face (including eye contour). Massage gently using circular motions then rinse thoroughly using a damp lukewarm mitt or cloth” – using soft cotton wool pads, as I was a little nervous at first in case I had any sort of reaction to the cleanser.  However, I needn’t have worried.  This is a really gentle cleanser – I had reaction, soreness, redness or even tightness, including when using it to remove eye make up.  In fact, I felt like it relaxed and softened the skin, with a moisturising effect.  My skin felt really smooth and perky, even after the first use.

The sample I received was just 5ml but I was able to use the Cleansing Balm to take off my make up every night for over three weeks, and still have a tiny smidgen left for when I next want to pamper myself.  A full size container is 50ml, for £46 (delivered free from the website); I wouldn’t normally consider paying this much for a cleansing product but I was so impressed that it’s gone straight on my birthday/Christmas list!  I can’t wait to have a pot in my bathroom again, for when I really want to pamper myself and feel like a film star.

Thanks to What’s In My Handbag for this sample.

Leave a comment!

