Skip to content
August 19, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Unboxing: Glossybox, August 2013

The theme for August’s Glossybox is Highflyers, which means products that should be good to pop in your handbag if you’re a busy career woman, or your suitcase to take away on holiday.

Glossybox August 2013: Highflyers

Glossybox August 2013: Highflyers

I had quite high expectations after the great July selection, where I actually received 6 items, at least four of which I’ll be using quite a bit… August’s selection was really quite different, with fewer cosmetics and more ‘tools’…

From Sweden: Emite Make Up Eyelash Curler (£20)
I actually already have a pair of eyelash curlers, trusty old friends from MAC, although I don’t use them very often as I have freaskishly long eye lashes anyway: they’re really only for when I’m going for a really big, dramatic evening look… So, this was a little disappointing.  They look like a nice pair, although I wonder if my lashes will be hard to see against the black colouring! Always good to have a spare, though…

August 2013 Glossybox: products revealed

August 2013 Glossybox: products revealed

From USA: Juicy Couture Viva La Juicy Noir fragrance (£63 for 100ml)
When I filled in the initial survey on sign-up to Glossybox, I did say I’d be happy to receive fragrance samples, but I might go back and change my preferences as actually I’m quite picky when it comes to perfume.  For a cheaper squirt of fragrance, I’m fond of Benefit’s Maybe Baby but “my” perfume is Christian Dior’s Miss Dior.  This is not really a similar fragrance – it’s very sweet – so I probably won’t be using it very much.

From the UK: Jelly Pong Pong 2-in-1 Eyeliner & Shadow pencil (£10.50)
The box leaflet describes this as “the perfect multi-tasker for travelling”, a crayon that can be used as an eyeliner or smudged and blended to act as a shadow.  I received a purple-pink shade which, actually, I quite like; it goes well with the pink and nude shades I often wear in the daytime, although the colour isn’t particularly strong on application.  I’ll be using this to add a little more definition to my eye make up fairly regularly from now on.

From the USA: Philosophy Purity Made Simple cleanser (£17.50 for 240ml, £28.50 for 480ml)
A reasonable trial size of a light, easy cleanser, which worked effectively to remove make up, including mascara.  I won’t be purchasing a full size version of this as it contains parabens which I try to avoid, although the texture is light and not greasy and the fragrance is clean and fresh.

From Brazil: Oceane Make Up Remover Pen (not yet available to buy in the UK)
This is a very neat idea – make up remover in a pen form, with replaceable tips.  You could pop it in your handbag and use it to tidy up smears and smudges during the day.  However, I’m not convinced.  The pen does come with two additional tips, but I’m not sure I’d want to use the tip many times, so two spares doesn’t seem very many to me.  Also, the product isn’t available to buy yet in the UK, so I wouldn’t be able to buy extra tips when these run out.  A clever concept but I just don’t feel it would be hygienic enough for me to feel comfortable using it.

All in all, not an amazing result, especially after such a fantastic box in July, but I’m hopeful that September will be a bit more interesting…

Leave a comment!

