Skip to content
September 10, 2013 / magickittenblogs

September Shower-Pamper

You may have noticed it’s been a little quiet here for the last week or so – it’s the start of a new school term so I’ve been shattered and also incredibly busy, but I’ve finally had time to write up a quick blog for you.

After truly manic days, and very early mornings, I decided to pamper myself.  I don’t often spend lots on toiletries but I’ll treat myself to things in small sizes which I use every now and then, trusted bargains, or things I know will last me a long time.  I also am a little bit in love with Lush.  I have quiet sensitive skin and I’m also very aware of artificial chemicals like parabens so Lush is brilliant for me, as the ingredients are all natural and clearly labelled.  I can see exactly what’s in every product and the staff are very knowledgeable about whether anything in each product might irritate my skin.  I’m also not a huge fan of baths – I overheat! – so this is my recipe for a pampering shower.

Pamper products - Lush, Montagne Jeunesse and Sanctuary

Pamper products – Lush, Montagne Jeunesse and Sanctuary

I start by taking a big handful of Jasmine and Henna Fluff-Eaze Hair Treatment, working it through my hair then putting it up in a twist.  This smells incredible – days later, I can still catch the jasmine fragrance – and the henna conditions and gives my hair a lovely chestnut shine.  I also put on my Montagne Jeunesse Blemish Mud.  Despite the name, it’s actually quite gentle but very cooling and soothing to apply, with a very light fresh smell.  There’s a slight tingle from the witch hazel which I enjoy! And then, it’s time to relax for fifteen to twenty minutes while the hair mask works and the face mask dries.

Next, I hop into a nice hot shower and wash off my face mask before I start to look like I’m melting.  It’s time for exfoliating and I love my Sanctuary Spa Body Scrub from Boots.  It has an exotic, spicy fragrance, although it’s not overpowering, it’s paraben-free and although it’s effective as a scrub, it’s still gentle enough to use regularly if you want to.  For leg-shaving, I’ve stolen back a product I originally bought for my sensitive-skinned boyfriend, Ambrosia Shaving Cream.  This is designed to be ultra-soothing during and after shaving, and it leaves my legs beautifully smooth and gloriously moisturised. It’s a bit pricey to use regularly if you’re a lady, but for a man who’s just shaving his face, it’s probably not bad value!

Time to wash off the hair mask now, and I use Rehab shampoo, full of wonderful fruit enzymes which stimulate the scalp, then follow up with my usual American Cream Lush conditioner – I don’t use anything different as the Hair Treatment is so nourishing already.  Finally, one last dose of jasmine, this time mixed with honey, from my Flying Fox Shower Gel.  Again, I love the jasmine smell – it’s supposed to be an aphrodisiac and it’s also good for calming overworked female hormones – and the honey is great for calming sensitive skin.

After all those treats, my skin and hair feel ready for anything.

What’s your pampering routine?

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. theoxfordowl / Sep 11 2013 10:57 am

    Mmm, Flying Fox! I’ll have to try that Sanctuary scrub, sounds lovely 🙂

Leave a comment!

