Skip to content
September 21, 2013 / magickittenblogs

Unboxing: Glossybox, September 2013

You might remember I was a little disappointed with August’s Glossybox – I didn’t feel I’d get much use from four of the five products – but September’s selection was miles better! This was the London Edition, to coincide with London Fashion Week, so all the products felt very British or catwalk-glam.

Glossybox, September 2013 - the London Edition

Glossybox, September 2013 – the London Edition

Elizabeth Arden: Untold (£48 for 50ml, £69 for 100ml at Debenhams)
Now, last month I said I regretted ticking the box to say I’d receive fragrances in my Glossybox, as I’m quite fussy about perfume, but I really love this!  It’s fruity, then floral and warm, but not too sweet; it’s the perfect size to go in my handbag for after-work meetings and freshening up while out in the evening.

Eylure: Pre-glued Lashes (one set £5.06 from http://www.eyelure.com)
I wouldn’t usually buy false eye lashes (I’ve only used them once before in my life!) but to have a pair in my make up collection, just in case, is quite nice and these seem to be really good quality.  I have pretty long eye lashes anyway and a bit of curling and a good mascara leaves them looking quite dramatic, but I have a fancy-dress party evening coming up on a lightship where I’ll be sporting some dramatic eye make up fit for a pirate, so I may well wear these then!

Glossybox, September 2013: the contents

Glossybox, September 2013: the contents

TONI&GUY HairMeetWardrobe Classic Shine & Gloss Serum (full size £7.19 for 30ml, from http://www.boots.com)
I do have quite hard-to-tame hair so I regularly use straightners to persuade it not to go quite so crazy. However, my hair seems to be dry at the ends but tending towards greasy at the roots and quite fine, so I was a little wary of using serums in the past.  I tried this out recently on newly straightened hair and it looked and smelled great, without weighing my hair down or making it feel greasy.  However, it didn’t seem to help the style stay for long, although this may be more to do with the damp weather.  I’ll definitely use this again but probably in combination with other products designed to keep hair really straight.

Be A Bombshell Cosmetics Onyx Eye Liner ($14 for 3g, from http://www.beabombshell.com)
This. Is. Amazing. I’m in love with this eyeliner.
I very nearly bought a MAC liquid liner dupe the day before I picked up my box but I’m so glad I decided not to as the felt-pen-style tip of this eyeliner applies precisely (it’s very sharp at the tip but tapers to very chubby by the handle so you can go from a daytime thin line to evening thick and dramatic so easily), and it dries incredibly quickly.  I’ve worn it to work, applying at 6.30 am, and it’s lasted perfectly until bedtime with no smudging or smearing. I can’t recommend it enough!

Dr Lipp Original Nipple Balm for Lips (£11.50 for 15g, from http://www.drlipp.com)
I’ve heard so much about this balm, originally developed as a nipple balm for breastfeeding women but now used on dry lips, chapped elbows, all those little dry patches that appear with autumn weather and turning the heating on.  The texture is really luxurious, it smells lovely and you only need the tiniest amount to notice a positive difference. Love it.

Leave a comment!

